Cal Writers Week

In 2003, the California State Assembly officially declared the third week in October each year as California Writers Week.

We invite all authors and readers to celebrate with us. Check your local branch’s website in October for sponsored events.

More information:


The Story behind California Writers Week

* Text of the Resolution

* Download the official California Writers Week Poster  (PDF file) (Click on image to download)

* California Authors of Note, biographies

California Authors of Note

The following authors were selected for the California Writers Club Joint Legislative Resolution in 2003. Click on an author’s name to learn more,

  • Gertrude Atherton (1857-1948)
  • Mary Austin (1868-1934)
  • Raymond Barrio (1921-1996)
  • Delilah L. Beasley (1872-1934)
  • Raymond Chandler (1888-1959)
  • Ina Coolbrith (1841-1928)
  • Dashiell Hammett (1894-1961)
  • Bret Harte (1836-1902)
  • Jack London (1876-1916)
  • Joaquin Miller (1837-1913)
  • William Saroyan (1908-1981)
  • John Steinbeck (1902-1968)
  • George Sterling (1869-1926)
  • Mark Twain (1835-1910)

The Story behind California Writers Week


For several months in early 2003, with the expert help of Anthony Folcarelli, the Central Board of the California Writers Club worked to establish California Writers Week. The plan was successful and on September 4, 2003 at 10 a.m., California Writers Club members gathered on the Assembly floor in Sacramento to receive a Joint Legislative Resolution from Assemblyman Tim Leslie. The Resolution is endorsed by the California Library Association.

Click here for a list of the noted California authors selected for the Resolution. Text of the Resolution

Click on poster (below) for a full size PDF

California Writers Week Official Poster

Click on Image to Download full-size PDF

Click on poster (above) for a full size PDF

Our Day in Sacramento

Photographs by Dianne Levy and Don Truax

In photo at right, CWC President Barbara Truax (at left, holding Resolution) with Assemblyman Tim Leslie and Anne Marie Gold, member of the executive board of the California Library Association and head of the Sacramento Library.

Anthony Folcarelli reviewing the process with Tim Leslie’s assistant Jedd Medefind (also a published author) while waiting for the 10 a.m. Assembly to begin. Barbara, Teresa LeYung Ryan from the Peninsula Branch, and Jeremiah O’Brien, the Central Board Representative from the Marin Branch.

A smiling Barb Truax leads CWC representatives to the Assembly floor for the 10 a.m. presentation.

Truly an exciting place to be. It has become rare, and will become even more rare, to be able to visit the Assembly floor to receive such awards. We are grateful to Tim Leslie and his aide de camp for their willingness to assist in this process.

Central Board Representatives join Barbara on the Capitol Plaza for a photo op.

California Writers Club members witnessed this important moment in California Writers Club history. Left to right: Dianne Levy, Marin branch president and CWC webmaster; Dave Sawle, Berkeley branch representative; Carol McConkie, Redwood branch president; Jeremiah O’Brien, Marin branch representative; Bill Baldwin, South Bay branch president and Central Board representative, CB Secretary; Amy Peele, Marin branch; Anthony Folcarelli, Sacramento branch and Special Consultant to the Central Board; Tom Adams, Sacramento branch representative and CB Vice President, Jackie Krug, Sacramento branch; Marilyn Smith Murphy, Sacramento branch. Front: Teresa LeYung Ryan, Peninsula branch; Beth Tigner, Sacramento branch; Shirley Adams, Sacramento branch; Barbara; Octavia Simien, Sacramento branch president.

Resolved: California Writers Week


Below is the full text of the California Legislature Assembly Resolution declaring the third week in October as California Writers Week.

California Legislature Assembly Resolution

By the Honorable Tim Leslie, 4th Assembly District; the Honorable Joseph Canciamilla, 11th Assembly District; the Honorable Guy S. Houston, 15th Assembly District; the Honorable Bill Maze, 34th Assembly District; the Honorable Gene Mullin, 19th Assembly District; the Honorable Joe Nation, 6th Assembly District; the Honorable Patricia Wiggins, 7th Assembly District; the Honorable John L. Burton, President Pro Tempore of the Senate; the Honorable Nell Soto, 32nd Senatorial District; and the Honorable Jackie Speier, 8th Senatorial District; Relative to the


WHEREAS, The California Writers Club was founded in 1909, with Jack London, Ina Coolbrith, George Sterling and others as members; and

WHEREAS, California’s literary tradition dates back to the works of Mark Twain, Bret Harte, Mary Austin, Nobel prize and Pulitzer prize winner John Steinbeck, Delilah L. Beasley, Joaquin Miller, Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Barrio, Gertrude Atherton, Raymond Chandler, Pulitzer prize winner William Saroyan and a great many others, and

WHEREAS, The California Writers Club honors all California writers, past and present, and continues to nurture the talents of new writers as well as established authors, and to provide a forum for the sharing of their writing experience, and

WHEREAS, The California Writers Club’s mission is to teach, mentor and encourage all writers for the good of our society; and

WHEREAS, California libraries are the forum where the writing of Californians is preserved and provided to the public, and

WHEREAS, the California Writers Club encourages all California libraries to showcase the works of California writers through displays, author programs and reading clubs; and

WHEREAS, The California Writers Club urges all educational institutions to place more emphasis on developing the writing and reading skills of everyone; and

WHEREAS, The California Writers Club is observing the third week in October as California Writers Week; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY ASSEMBLY MEMBERS TIM LESLIE, JOSEPH CANCIAMILLA, GUY S. HOUSTON, BILL MAZE, GENE MULLIN, JOE NATION, AND PATRICIA WIGGINS AND PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE JOHN L. BURTON AND SENATORS NELL SOTO AND JACKIE SPEIER, That they recognize the third week in October as California Writers Week, and encourage the people of the State of California to reflect upon the contributions that California writers have made to humankind.

Members Resolution No. 2170.     Dated this 4th day of September, 2003.

Honorable Tim Leslie, 4th Assembly District
Honorable Guy S. Houston, 15th Assembly District
Honorable John L Burton, President Pro Tempore of the Senate
Honorable Nell Soto, 32nd Senatorial District

Tim Leslie, District 4. Roseville
Guy Houston, District 15. Livermore

John Burton, District 3. San Francisco
Nell Soto, District 32. Ontario

Joe Canciamilla, District 11. Martinez
Bill Maze, District 34. Visalia
Gene Mullin, District 19. San Mateo
Joe Nation, District 6. San Rafael
Pat Wiggins, District 7. Santa Rosa

Jackie Speier, District 8. San Mateo